iris literary agency

Margarita Liberaki

Margarita Liberaki

Margarita Liberaki (1919–2001) was born in Athens and raised by her grandparents, who ran a bookstore and publishing house. She wrote three novels, The Other Alexander (1950) and The Mystery (1976), a number of plays, including Candaules’ Wife (1955) and The Danaïds (1956), part of a cycle she called Mythical Theater, several screenplays, including Jules Dassin’s Phaedra (1962) and Diaspora (1999), about Greek intellectuals in exile in Paris during the junta, and a translation of Treasure Island (2000). Three Summers is now a standard part of Greek and Cypriot public education and was adapted as a television miniseries in 1995. She is the mother of another Greek author, Margarita Karapanou.

Follow Us

Under reconstruction

Please keep in mind that our site is under reconstruction.

Language selection


Rhea Galanaki

L’eau salée de la mer ne renvoie jamais l’image d’un visage. Son bleu étant celui des contes de fées, il ne nous reflète pas, mais peut nous entraîner dans un autre monde.